Some Bad Effects of Generosity

I have had some friendships where I do all the giving and they do all the taking. I may sound selfish, but I can only give so much before I feel like I have run dry and have nothing left to give. Also, sometimes I have had friends who just can’t seem to reciprocate at times. I so try to give with no regrets, with no expectation of something returned, but I do believe there a time when you give and give to a person and there is no return of generosity on their side, the friendship seems very lop-sided and unfair.

I can’t say that I sometimes don’t have expectations, but aren’t most friendships give and take? And when giving by one, who consistently gives and the other takes and takes, it takes a toll on your heart. Does that make any sense?

Takers seem to take advantage of those who give. They abuse the purpose of the giving in the first place. I don’t want to stop giving of myself, but I need to become wiser in what generosity really means to me.

I think there are some reasons to give wisely. 1. Life is too short. 2. There is only so much that one person can give. There are limitations to giving. 3. Giving the most you can can also can reap great rewards. But takes a lot of resources and might dwindle what you have left. 4. Take the time to recharge yourself and build your resources back up.

Friendships that are lop-sided takes a toll on you mentally and physically.

I have to remind myself to also give to myself. That my glass gets kind of empty too. I have to be unfraid to let others give to me. I am not doing life alone. My only expectation is appreciate the time and resources that I offer to them. The times I change my who schedule or miss an appointment for helping a friend.

Philemon 1:6 ASV 6 that the fellowship of thy faith may become effectual, in the knowledge of every good thing which is in you, unto Christ

I love how this states that this action of generosity comes from faith. When we come to the understanding of how big God is and how faithful he is to us our response should be generosity. Giving to others shines a light on the heart of God for others to see.

“God loves the cheerful giver”. Kinda cliche right? I have heard this many times. But right now I have run dry in the giving department. Does that make me a bad person? I don’t think so. It just means it’s time to give myself a break and recharge. Time to relax and gather my thoughts. It’s not a bad thing.

2 Corinthians 9:6-8 GNT 6 Remember this—a farmer who plants only a few seeds will get a small crop. But the one who plants generously will get a generous crop. 7You must each decide in your heart how much to give. And don’t give reluctantly or in response to pressure. “For God loves a person who gives cheerfully.”t 8 And God will generously provide all you need. Then you will always have everything you need and plenty left over to share with others.

God loves a cheerful giver- it’s always a heart thing. He is looking at our motivation. Do we give because we feel obligated or manipulated? I think it’s important to note that God is wanting us to be led by the spirit and to do so gladly. Sure, we may be put in the position at times to give something that we don’t have much of. We may have to give of time that it seems we don’t have. Just because we don’t WANT to doesn’t mean it’s not of God. However, if we only give out of obligation, chances are our hearts are not in it. We should give because it’s just what we do- we’ve conditioned ourselves to give freely- it’s become a lifestyle. And it’s not always money- it’s everything we have to offer someone else- our time, our energy and resources, our ear, etc. It’s not even what we give- it’s the condition of the heart behind it. By being free to give to others, we put ourselves in a place that God can replenish us- He equips us with a grace to give, and in doing so, takes care of us, too.

Leave a Reply

