30 Day Blog Challenge – Day 16 and more

Day 16: Your opinion about your body and how comfortable you are with it.

Oh my my!!  How appropriate subject for today.  I will be having the gastric sleeve surgery this coming Thursday.  So my opinion of my body is changing as I type.  I am on a full liquid diet today.  I stomached my first protein shake.  It was vanilla mixed with skim milk.  The first few sips were ok but by the time I was near the end….whoa.  NOT what I was expecting.  It was hard to get it all down.  I think next time, I will mix it with some fresh fruit…blend it up, add some ice, and try a slush.  I hope that will be better.

I have these bumps and curves that are in places they shouldn’t be.  Last year I had a breast reduction due to inflamed fibroids.  So, that was taken care of nicely.  Now to get my body in that shape. I have managed to lose close to 20 pounds since starting this journey this past February.  That is pretty decent for me.

Today, I signed up for Aquatic Zumba and a meditation awareness series for this semester here at the U.  The zumba stuff starts the first part of September.  Well, actually I think it starts Aug 29, but I won’t be cleared to start until the next week.  The meditation series is in October.   I am excited about both.  I thought about taking a yoga class…but I don’t want to push it too much right after surgery.

Classes begin Aug 22.  I have the week before (wait, that is next week) to rest up and recover.  Oh wow…it’s coming so quickly.  K starts school on the 15th.  I talked to her last night on the phone and asked who her teacher was this year.  “It’s a boy” she said.  I just had to chuckle.  My good friend is the other 2nd grade teacher.  I hope it’s a good year for her…with “the boy” teacher.  🙂

Today is my last day at work.  I am sitting her in the office with not much going on.  Both deans are in today.  So it’s still pretty quiet.  They both had vacation last week.  Back to the grind.  I wonder what they will have for me when classes start?  I know I have a huge mailing that will need to be done sometime in October and November for all the alums from UNI.  I did that last year.  Not a problem.

As for this 30 day blog series, I might have to miss Thursdays.  Or maybe Karen will type it out for me as I lay in bed at the hospital.  LOL  We’ll see.  Transformation begins today.  I really do like myself today and most days as well.  Life has turned around for me in the past year.  It’s been an amazing year.  Even if I didn’t marry the man who was supposed to be the man of my dreams.  (poor him).  Being single isn’t too bad.  I have a great group of friends and a wonderful family.  Support is something I am not used to, but I sure like it.  Feels great to be loved.

Carry on….this blog is done.  Enjoy your day!!

One thought on “30 Day Blog Challenge – Day 16 and more

  1. Oh cool, you are getting the sleeve, too! (I’m relieved, actually!!) And now that you are on your pre-op diet, my advice is to keep something going in your mouth constantly. Feel a little hunger pang? Slug something down — sugar free jello, broth, tea, sugar free popsicle, Crystal Light, etc. Don’t give yourself a chance to get hungry. Also, the more water and watery stuff you pour down your gullet, the more garbage you will wash out of your system and the fewer cravings you will have post-op. These days will be tough, though, I won’t lie. Think of it as a vacation from food, though … from the constant battle of “should eat this, shouldn’t eat that.” It really helped me. Best wishes!!
    –Dorothy

Leave a Reply

