Life and Everyday

something from Brennan Manning

Brennan Manning, author of The Ragamuffin Gospel, writes the following:

“When I get honest, I admit I am a bundle of paradoxes. I believe and I doubt. I hope and get discouraged. I love and I hate. I feel bad about feeling good. I feel guilty about not feeling guilty. I am trusting and suspicious. I am honest and I still play games.”
He writes his words to understand — to explore the context of his
paradoxes.

Every paradox is connected to a chapter in our story. Every day you
live is part of the plot, the adventure, the mystery called life.

We pray for God to remove our bad times, our crisis moments, our
illnesses and our tragedies. Then if he doesn’t, we struggle with more
than paradoxes. We struggle with God, and at times, we pout a bit.

Pouting and blaming God doesn’t stop the pain, but it does stop the
story, giving us emptiness instead of understanding.

Your life is bigger than any problem or crisis or set-back. You just
need time to let God help you see the context, the background, and the
back-story. Pray for eyes that see beyond your vision.

Leave a Reply

