Pause…..simplify

I have been a hurting unit for a couple weeks now.  Not just physically, but mentally as well.  I feel bogged down and sluggish.  My days are so full, that lately….even though  I have stuff scheduled from the time I get up until the time I go to bed, I have totally shut down.  I haven’t gone anywhere.  I haven’t done much of anything (but take a shower and maybe eat something).  I have become suspended in time, so to speak.  Days are going by….I haven’t been to many of my classes.  I am cancelling appointments.  I am rearranging things to do at a later time.

What am I doing when I am not going and doing and being all the time?  I don’t really know.  I haven’t been sleeping.  I know I have been physically sick.  But time is getting away from me.  I am experiencing that “dissociation” again.  I am not connected to anything.  I am, but I’m not.  I know my calendar is full….but am I really there?

So, I am going to pause a moment.  (break it up, call time, catch one’s breath, cease, come to standstill, deliberate, desist, discontinue, drop, halt, hesitate, hold back, interrupt, put on hold, reflect, rest, shake, sideline, stop briefly, suspend, take a break, take a breather, take five, take ten, think twice, waver)

I am going to simplify.   I NEED to.  Somehow I have to figure out what is most important to me and go from there.  I am not so sure that where I am now, is where I need to be.

(http://zenhabits.net/simple-living-manifesto-72-ideas-to-simplify-your-life/) is the link that I am going to use to help me figure out what is important and how to simplify.  So today…… Make a list of your top 4-5 important things. What’s most important to you? What do you value most? What 4-5 things do you most want to do in your life? Simplifying starts with these priorities, as you are trying to make room in your life so you have more time for these things.

1) My family – (esp K)

2) My faith

3) My health (physical and mental)

4) My friends

5) ???

 

2 thoughts on “Pause…..simplify

  1. Thank you for posting this. Sometimes we forget that we aren’t the only ones getting bogged down and need to hear someone else say it’s okay to step back and take a break. To get our priorities straight.

Leave a Reply

