accountability partner

I have been thinking a lot about finding an accountability partner.  I actually have 2-3 different people in mind.

An accountability partner is a person who coaches/encourages another person in terms of helping the other person keep a commitment.

I think for me it would be that I need a person to help me stay focused and committed on my walk with Christ. Also in the area of not giving up where college is concerned. Like being my cheerleader when I want to give up on everything.  Someone who won’t let me get away with excuses, but remind me of the “big picture”.

These person’s will have to stand firm and not let me “excuse” my way through not doing something.  Even if it gets hard for me.  I have a tendency to find an excuse to not do something.  I need that push to keep going right now.  I find myself, not so much wallowing in self pity, but that inner voice in my head telling me “You can’t possibly think you can do this.”    This partner will help me stay focused on my goals and the steps I am taking to get there.

I believe that accountability partners are fellow strugglers too.   They are not any more perfect in life than me.  They know the struggle.  They have also seen successes.  We need to define and implement some guidelines for what accountability looks like and be able to check in with one another often.

Accountability will help me to become more aware of my actions and take responsibility for them.  The Bible sets up some guidelines for accountablity too:

  • Active listening is essential to developing trust. James 1:19 says, “My dear brothers, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry.”
  • A non-judgmental attitude is another essential element. Remember, we can be accepting of an individual while being discerning of the situation. Matthew 7:1-2 says, “Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.”
  • Caring for each other is also essential. 1 John 4:21 says, “And he has given us this command: Whoever loves God must also love his brother.”
We need to share clear goals and know what we need to do to achieve them. It is easier to reach those goals that way than to keep the commitment by myself.  A good accountability partner must be the kind of person who takes pleasure in seeing others have success and has the “I’ll do whatever it takes to be successful” attitude. He or she must be able to motivate, challenge, and encourage you. They must be someone you respect and enjoy spending time with. (thanks Dawn for that sharing this part with me).
Are you up for that task?  I know I am.  Let’ s do it!!  and ……
Leave a Reply

