about my weight loss

It’s been little bit since I have posted about how my weight loss is going.

It’s been approximately 8 weeks since I had surgery.  I lost a total of 36 pounds thus far.  To me, that seems slow, if I compare to others on this journey with VSG.  But I have had some hiccups on this road so far too.  My body is not adjusting very well.  I knew that I would have a hard time, especially in the beginning.  The vitamins are making me literally sick.  The protein shakes do the same.  So I am trying some different things to get what I need into my body.  I am actually eating more protein now.  Literally.  I measure and count.  All the things I told myself years ago I would never do.   It’s a drag, yes, but that is how I need to do it right now.

Chicken, eggs, string cheese, broccoli, beans, etc.  These are a few basics in my diet right now.  Doesn’t sound all that exciting but I am trying to figure out what kinds of recipes I can make that are protein packed.  I google recipes all the time.  Add a bit of that, take out something else.  etc.  I am hoping it is working.

On Monday, tomorrow, I will go have a series of blood tests done again to see how my vitamin and mineral levels are doing.  I will head up to my blood doc to have this done as, they are about the only folks who can find the right vein to get the blood out.  LOL

Sleep.  I am focusing more on that too.   I find that if I am not getting a good night’s rest, I am pretty useless to everyone around me.

My knee is another factor that my weight loss has slowed down.  I got another cortisone injection this past week.  It’s not really any better, so I forsee an MRI in the near future.  I don’t know what is wrong exactly.  I just know that it’s swollen all the time and very painful.  I have considerably cut down on my walking, which has bummed me out.  I miss my walks to my rockin Christian tune-age.!!  is that a word?  It is now.  I think I am going to start back this week and just take it a bit slower.  I need to get some exercise in there.  I still haven’t contacted the U about personal training.  I am hesitant mostly because of my fear.  I have lots of fear around exercise.  Suppose will have to explore that avenue too.

God is ever present in my life.  Again last night at the concert, He made Himself apparent to me.  Music from 33 Miles, Finding Favour, and Mark Schultz, uplifted my heart and spirit.  Reaffirmed that I need to keep God first in my life.  “I am second”.

I have some amazing friends at Life Church….. http://www.lifechurch.tv/  Come join us sometime.  You will find out what I mean.

Oh, and one more thing.  Gonna go back to working on Chazown again.  http://www.chazown.com/  I need to take a deeper look at what God is calling me to do.  I feel that pull again.  College is winding down.  Only a few more months until graduation and I am still not sure where I want to be or what I want to be doing.  Today is the day I start being more involved in my life. again!

2 thoughts on “about my weight loss

  1. Hi Jules,
    so sorry I’ve not been around for ages.
    I’ve finally had my op, 2 weeks ago, and have lost 10lbs so far. Don’t know whether that’s good or bad really . . .
    Sounds to me like you are doing well 🙂
    Now I’ve heard that there’s a recipe book you can buy (at least here in England) called “Return To Slender”. It’s written for people who have had weight loss surgery. I haven’t bought a copy yet as I’m still on liquids and purees for the moment.
    Good luck with the rest of your journey

    Blessings

    Kath xx

    • Julsey says:

      Hey Kath –
      Congrats on the surgery. I am happy to hear that you are doing ok. Are you still blogging? I would like to keep reading but I tried to find your blog and can’t seem to get there. I must behaving a duh moment. Anyways, it’s awesome to hear from you. Let me know how things are going. I am doing ok. Weight loss is up to 46 pounds now. I feel pretty good.
      hugs to you.
      Julie

Leave a Reply

