Friends…..or not?

 

 

I have doing a lot of thinking about the people (friends new and old) in my life lately.  My emotions have been so caught up in them and their stuff.  I realized today that I am forgetting to take care of me.  I have had to cut ties with a few in the past few months…..

You know what, though? I don’t regret it.

Since I cut this particular person and a few others over the years, I have made space for people to come into my life who realize that a relationship (intimate or friendly) is a give and take. My happiness has increased in amazing amounts, and I credit this rule with much of it:

I don’t spend time with people who suck my energy.

I just don’t do it. Call me mean, call me selfish. If you’re negative, hurtful, or expect things from me without giving me anything in return, you won’t make it past the first meeting.

I realize this is a controversial topic, but it’s important to face the reality of your situation.

If you want to live a happy life, you can’t let other people hold you back.

There are those who just want company in their own misery, or those who only want to have you as their waste basket to toss negative complaints into.

The wrong friends will suck happiness out of you, make you feel bad about yourself, or try to drag you down with them.

You are worth more than that. You deserve love and support just as much as they do.

When you realize that those friends who are mean or all-around negative aren’t adding anything positive to your life, it can be devastating.

People change. Friends change.

Some people we’ve known our whole lives could have turned into bitter negative nancies, even though we have fond memories from early on in the relationship.

Don’t get stuck in the past. Concentrate on the present.

If someone is holding you back from full-fledged happiness, that person is not a true friend.

Leave a Reply

