This single mom survives….again…

Experts say caffeine is bad for you, fat is bad for you, sugar is bad for you. . . But don’t worry, because that’s bad for you too.

There’s a thin line between “I should do a status update about that” and “I should talk to a therapist about that”.  This week I experienced mood swings from he!!  and back.  K helped to rouse those up in me again.  I endured her yelling at me and slamming doors.  I hope this isn’t a true sign of what is to come in her teen years.  If it is….I think I will want to lock myself in my bathroom.  Oh wait…..none of my doors have locks except the front door.  Dang!!!

Homework has been a major pain in the butt this week.  The teachers don’t want me to push her too much at home.  The therapist doesn’t want me to engage in her yelling and bargaining.  I have also been told not to yell back.  So what do I do?  I gave her choices.  Mostly she has to deal with the wrath of her teacher when she doesn’t have her homework done.  K excels in so much at school.  Her testing scores are above average.  She reads really well.  She loves math.  She just doesn’t want anyone telling her what to do or when to do it.

Anyway, I took her to a psychologist this week to have some testing for ADHD.  She does not have a typical ADHD pattern.  But she does have some traits.  Most ADHD kids are visually distracted.  K is distracted auditory   It’s all through the loudness of the room, music, tv, etc.  That is her distraction that upsets her so much.  Which explains a lot of things to me.

We both have more papers to fill out.  Gave one to her teacher.  K is filling one out with the help of Grammy this weekend.  And I will be filling out one as well.  We gotta figure out how to help her and get the behaviors and meltdowns to lessen.

I am also working on a behavior chart for here at home.  She thinks that I need to buy her stuff every time we go out, whether to the grocery store or to Wal-Mart or the gas station.  I am not wealthy and cannot keep buying the little things.  That crap starts to add up.

Life is certainly weird some days.  I am learning to take the curve balls with more grace.  But I often forget to breathe before freaking out.  So worry has taken over this week.  UGH.  Here’s to a better week ahead.

Leave a Reply

