Beating myself up….still

If you are at all like me, you tend to beat yourself up over things that happened in the past. Embarrassing moments or painful moments or evil moments – you name it, I’ve experienced it. Why do I keep making myself miserable? I don’t know, but I sure wish I would stop it.broken_heart_by_starry_eyedkid1

I was finishing up making goodies and other treats for tomorrow this afternoon and started thinking about the past again. There I was cringing, my toes curled and my jaw clenched. All of a sudden, I looked up and saw K watching Christmas movies on the tv….

I am not crippled, I filled with glory. I don’t have a terminal illness. I am have a beautiful daughter, a very nice apartment, and enough money to meet most of my bills. Best of all, I AM ALIVE!

If I keep complaining about my life, past and present, God might give me something to REALLY complain about. So, it’s best to stop complaining and stop making myself miserable. Yes, those bad things happened. BUT, I now have enough self-control to keep from repeating those mistakes.

Stay in the present and congratulate yourself on living another wonderful day. If it is not wonderful, then do something about it. God helps those who help themselves. Each wonderful day will result in a wonderful future, something to be happy about.

mychild

 

 

Dear God, thank you for your many blessings. I promise to live each day with you in mind, because I know I can’t do it without you. Please forgive me for my past transgressions. I must learn to forgive myself, as I am sick of beating myself up. Show me how, dear God…

One thought on “Beating myself up….still

Leave a Reply

