My One Word

I have been hearing or rather reading a lot of blogs and from friends about this “what is one word for the year” thing.  Never thought about that before.  Nor have I ever done it.  I think this is mostly because I haven’t taken the time to just sit down and think about how I want to be this year (or last year or the year before…you get it).  I just lived.  Or on some days, not much live.  I existed.  But NOW, I live.  Because I want to, not because I feel like I have to.  If that makes sense to you.  Anyone dealing with any kind of chronic pain, mental illness, or any other illness for that matter, has probably felt this at one time or another.  And so…….

My one word for this year is persistence.

I’m notoriously non-committal when it comes to “inspirational” stuff like this. I hear about a concept that I like and jump on board, but then my interest wanes or, more commonly, I end up unsure if I’m really on the right track. Either way, I can usually be counted on to give it a few weeks and then move on to something else.

Not with this whole one-word-for-the-year thing.

I’m not big on setting resolutions , see my previous post. I think it’s because resolutions tend to be things that I feel I should do (or shouldn’t do, in some cases).  The coulda, woulda, shoulda thing is really not a useful way to get motivated. But, I’ve figured out that I’m all over putting something out there and being open to seeing what comes of it.

I want to get through (have persistence) – getting this stuff with K figured out and how to help her with what is REALLY going on with her, the opportunities that come up with Minnesota Reading Corps (recruitment and leadership), my writing here. I want to get to know our new(ish) community better – it’s lovely and pretty and so close to so many things I want to dip my figurative toe into. I want to find my running spirit in this new, snow-filled (or extremely humid filled summer) environment. I want to be more active — nearby and possibly farther away — and I want to spend more time outside on all the trails that surround this town and down by the river.  I want the confidence in knowing that I can make it through whatever life is going to throw at me this year.

I want to continue to keep in touch with dear friends from years ago and now:  friends I have met through camp, school, college, lifechurch.tv  and find new ways to connect with them on a regular basis, because they lift me up. They were sent into my life for a reason and I’m not going to let geography push them out of it.  Also want to be persistent in becoming more aware of the people in my community and my church.  I need to get to know the people around me.

I also want to figure out my relationship with K. I written about some struggles with her  but I’m still struggling and the voice in my head is whispering that if I don’t do something about it I could become irreparably disconnected from my little (not so little 9 year old) girl.

So there you have it, my word for 2013 – persistence.  Enjoy your journey as well in 2013. ♥Julie

Leave a Reply

