Because of You

I wrote this in honor of my good friend Tracy.  He has made a huge impact on my life.  I first met Tracy when I was 17.  I was a junior counselor at Riverside Lutheran Bible Camp in Story City, IA.  It was the summer after my junior year in high school.  I was struggling with life as most teens do.  My life was crazy as some may know ( if you have heard my story).  But this is a bit of the good stuff.  Camp is/has been my “light in the darkness” or in the darkest times that I can remember.  It was one of my sanctuaries while growing up….even in young adulthood.

©http://blog.gaiam.com/hope-vs-faith/hope-vs-faith/

©http://blog.gaiam.com/hope-vs-faith/hope-vs-faith/

Because of You

Because of you…I am alive today

Because of you…I know what God’s love is like

Because of you…I know what true friendship is means

Because of you…I know that God will never give up on me

Because of you…I know persistence and dedication

Because of you…I know there is hope

Because of you…I know what know how laughing, happiness, joy, faith, peace and love feels inside me

Because of you…I know what God’s unconditional love is, because you have shown me yours.

©www.campnavigator.com

©www.campnavigator.com

Because of you, I know tomorrow might not be perfect, but God’s love never fails.  When I first met you in 1987, I was a mess of a teenage girl.  Bible camp was my escape from a chaos that consumed my thoughts and dreams.  Pastor Art, accepted me as a junior counselor that summer, little did I know that I would meet some of the most wonderful friends I would ever encounter.  You just happen to be one of the friends who made me think about what God has done in my life and what He CAN DO IN my life.  When I felt hopeless, you kept giving me reasons why I should be hopeful.  When I wanted to give up, you helped me find reasons to keep moving forward.

I marked the Bible verse you shared with me that made the biggest difference in my life:  Psalm 139:13-14 “For you created my inmost being, you knit me together in my mothers’ womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made, I know that full well.”

All this…because of you…and God!

Leave a Reply

