coulda woulda shoulda

I met with Amanda last week and she challenged me on my thinking A LOT.  I have been mulling it over in my head for the past week.  Yeah….that long.  We talked about that have to’s.  All the things I “have to” do or “should” do.

But recently, like the few days, I have a case if of the I don’t wanna’s.  I don’t wanna clean the apartment.  I don’t wanna do laundry.  I don’t wanna do dishes.  I just don’t wanna do anything.  You get the picture.

I have a friend who consistently tells me to take things one day at a time or if not that, one moment at a time.  I don’t have to do everything all at once.

Amanda tells me to re-frame how I talk to myself.  Instead of telling myself that I have to do something, say that I get to do it.  I get to do the laundry because clean clothes  smell good and look good.

I don’t HAVE to do anything, really.  Except the things that keep me out of jail (if that is what I want)…to take care of my daughter and myself.

Some days I don’t wanna get up.  But I do.
Some days I don’t wanna do laundry.  But I do.
Some days I don’t wanna put gas in my car.  But I do.

Or I don’t.  But none of those “don’ts” can last long because I have responsibilities.  And my health is a very important responsibility.  So I pull my head out of the muck.  I get to go grocery shopping.  I get to go work out.  I get to cook delicious healthy food that makes me feel good.  And I get to be healthy.  It’s just that some days, it’s one moment at a time.

 

Leave a Reply

