Mirror

Daily Prompt:  Look in the mirror. Does the person you see match the person you feel like on the inside? How much stock do you put in appearances?

While looking in the mirror, the person on the outside doesn’t really match the insides.  On the outside I see an aging lady who has lines forming on her face.  Some are “laugh lines”, some just lines of stress and aging.  I see eyes that have lost some sparkle.  But yet a smile that is present most days lately.  Which is nice for a change.

On the inside, I feel younger (at times).  Someone who wants to be able to keep up with my 10 year old and have fun with her.  I feel wiser and my intuition has taught me to follow what my gut feels at times.

Do I put stock in appearances?  Not so much.  You can’t know a person by their “cover”.  They are not always what they look like.  I am not my overweight-ness.  Nor am I the aging wrinkles that I see on my face and hands.  I know people often judge people who are overweight as lazy or incompetent.   But that is just not true.  I am more than that.

One thought on “Mirror

Leave a Reply

