More about the Rhizotomy

Depression and anxiety is kicking my butt. I have been praying and praying for some relief and answers. My health just keeps giving me another blow. I will be having a minor surgery on my ring finger on my right hand on June 16. He is going to take a cyst out of my knuckle that is partially attached to the tendon.
I have been dealing (or lack of) with intense pain in my low back. Got the MRI results back today and it just makes me sad. I have severe arthritis in the last two vertebrae closest to my tailbone. They are going to do a rhizotomy next week or possibly the following. Next week is really busy with Katey’s dance rehearsal and recital and another practice before Friday’s recital.
A rhizotomy is a neurosurgical procedure that selectively destroys problematic nerve roots in the spinal cord, most often to relieve the symptoms of neuromuscular conditions
The terms rhizotomy and neurotomy are also increasingly becoming interchangeable in the treatment of chronic back pain from degenerative disc disease. This is a procedure called a facet rhizotomy and is not a surgical procedure but is instead done on an outpatient basis using a simple probe to apply radiofrequency waves to the impinged pain-causing nerve root lying between the facet joint and the vertebral body. Such radio frequency nerve lesioning results in five to eight or more months of pain relief before the nerve regenerates and another round of the procedure needs to be performed.

I have found out that several people I know (including a few relatives) have had this done. This is what one of them has said (encouraging words)….The procedure hurts while find the nerve. They have to find the nerve that is hurting you. They’ll ask if that’s the pain/ area.And when they do you’ll know it. They’ll numb it at that time they’ll burn it. Doesn’t take long at all. There’s no cutting on your skin.. Just injections. I had surgery years ago and still had left over troubles with my leg. Not anymore with this procedure. Best of luck!!!
The comments from other friends has been positive too. They say it helps tremendously. You will have to have it done again but well worth it they say. So I have some hope in the pain department.

I haven’t been sleeping worth diddly. I can’t decide if it’s all pain related or that I am cycling with my bi polar stuff. I have gone a couple days with no sleep this past week. Last night I managed to get 5.

I just want a miracle healing of my body. I don’t want to feel this old. I want to keep up with Katey’s activities and I want to walk more and work on losing the weight I need to. That i the part that makes me so bummed.

Thanks for listening (reading) my pity pot post.  🙂

3 thoughts on “More about the Rhizotomy

Leave a Reply

