Long Days and Nights

Today is January 2, 2015 and it already feels like it should be later in the year.  I certainly doesn’t feel like only 2 days into a new one.  I wrote this letter to a couple very very good friends of mine at  LifeChurch in Oklahoma asking for prayer.  I am going to paste it here because I don’t want to retype it….too tired tonight.

Dear Friends
Don’t know if you are here the rest of this holiday week or will be back the 6th when Austin gets back.  I sent this email to him as well.  I wrote this in regards to the difficulties I am having with my 11 year old Katey. She has ADHD and it’s going through a lot of non constructive behaviors.  She had a change in medication , I think about 3-4 weeks ago and I think that it is making her more angry and aggressive.  She is threatening me, like throwing stuffed animals and barbies, etc. but it’s just getting worse for her even after we decided to change schools. I wanted you to help me pray for guidance and making good decisions in what the next step should be. I need some added support from my trusted long time support folks at LC.  I really don’t know what to do next.  Her mental health social worker will be coing tomorrow to spend some time with us and we will be talking about options and things that may help or not.  
Well since that phone call, I have gotten other news. Today my mom called me very early this morning. Oh the rollercoaster of emotion today. Overwhelmed to say the least. Need strong, bold, healing prayers for my nephew, Jesse, who was airlifted Mercy Hospital in Mason City early this morning. He has a long road of healing ahead of him. 
He was asleep on his girlfriend’s couch and woke up to her punching him in the face.  I have no clue what that was about.  He got very angry and left. He was also very drunk. One of his buddies was going to drive him out to my mom’s, but he was ticked and left anyway. Mason, his friend, tried and tried to get in front of him in his truck to get him slow down. But Jesse would keep passing him. Jesse was eventually going about 80 mph my mom said. He was just past my brother’s place (his dad) and just before Chelsea’s place (step-sister), when he hit s very deep embankment and then hit a pole just before the bridge at the beginning of the Deer Creek bridge. He was not wearing his seatbelt…then ejected sideways out of the driver’s side window of his truck. Mason was still with him. He couldn’t find him at first because Jesse was ejected from the truck. He called 911. The Northwood first responders came and then called the Mercy Life Flight to get him to Mercy Hospital in Mason City Iowa as soon they could. 
He has a severe flap/cut on his head all the way to his skull…about 200 stitches and staples, where his head hit the glass going through the door window. He broke his nose and has stitches across that as well. Gashes on his cheek and forehead that required stitches too.  He smashed his optical bones in his left eye but his eye is ok and intact.  He broke a bunch of ribs resulting in getting his lung punctured and totally deflated. He has a tube in it right now as it is still not doing what it is supposed to be doing. He broke 4 of those little tree like structures that come out of the main vertebrae, I believe they cover or protect the nerves. They are cracked and broken and the doctors don’t believe that they can be fixed. Jesse also broke his pelvis. Contusions on the bones in his legs. Lots of road rash. 
He will be in intensive care for awhile until they can get his lung to function again and his blood pressure to stabilize. My mom will be staying there with my brother, Jerry (Jesse’s dad).
—There was a praise in all this today too.  My niece Amanda, my brother’s daughter, has been estranged from all our family (by her choice) for the past 4-5 years.)  She has gotten married and none of our family went to the wedding.  But today…Amanda came right down to the hospital at 5am…right to Jesse’s side.  She didn’t want to leave him.  When Jerry and my mom came in, she gave my brother (her dad) and my mom (grammy) the biggest hugs and there were many many tears of  JOY!!!  (My One Word for 2015)  When my mom called to give me one last update this evening, mom asked Amanda if she would talk to me for a few minutes.  So I talked with her.  I cried.  I told her how much I have missed her.  I asked her about her job.  I asked how her new marriage was going.  I also asked if we could  get together and talk some more. We have another Christmas party down in Iowa this coming Saturday.  We are going to cut that visit short so we can head to Mason City to see Jesse.  Then we will travel back through my hometown of Northwood to stop at the restaurant to visit Amanda for a few.  I can’t wait to hug that girl!! 
I won’t be going down any sooner unless things get worse. I have way to much on my plate with Katey at the moment. Lots of things and decisions that need to be made soon. Her mental health social worker will be here tomorrow and we will be talking about what the next step will be. I do know she will be going through more testing and functioning skills also. 
So much stuff. I’m a tad overwhelmed and feeling a lot of body pain from my autoimmune disorders. My immune cells are fighting with each other and have landed in my voice box.  So I sound really funny with a crackly voice.  I will need to find some doctor to take do some extensive testing to figure out what autoimmune stuff is going on.
Thank you for praying for my family and me  We love you and thank you for taking the time to be there for for us.
Blessings.
If those of you that follow my blog are of the praying type…please keep Jesse and the rest of my family in your prayers.  Jesse has a long healing road ahead of him.  I got a call from my mom and he is still in ICU, his lung is still collapsed and the tube is still in place.  He is bruising really bad.  He is in tons of pain.  When the nursing staff moves him just a little he cries out in extreme pain.  He needs all the prayers he can get.  My brother does too.  His heart is breaking.  Thank you, my friends.
No sleep last night. I’ve been awake since the day before yesterday. I hope to get some sleep soon.  I have taken my night medicine and should be getting to bed soon.
I hope your new year is off to a good start.
Blessings and peace,
Jerry (L) and Jesse (R)

Jerry (L) and Jesse (R)

One thought on “Long Days and Nights

  1. sunsetdragon says:

    Your nephew, you, Katie and your family, and Robert who is also your family, are all in our prayers.
    Love and hugs

Leave a Reply

