Life and Everyday

Something to think about

self_thumb

I had therapy today and we talked about lots of things pertaining to life.  I have my 25th high school reunion next weekend and I have no clue what to say to people when then ask what I have done during that time.  I don’t remember most of it.  I wasn’t on drugs.  I wasn’t drunk.  I was ill.  I was depressed.  I was full of anxiety.  I was checked out of life.  So my therapist and I talked about some of that.  He also told me about what I posted next.  It’s something that just has me going hmmmmm?  what do you think?

1. You are not your mind.

The first time I heard somebody say that, I didn’t like the sound of it one bit. What else could I be? I had taken for granted that the mental chatter in my head was the central “me” that all the experiences in my life were happening to.

I see quite clearly now that life is nothing but passing experiences, and my thoughts are just one more category of things I experience. Thoughts are no more fundamental than smells, sights and sounds. Like any experience, they arise in my awareness, they have a certain texture, and then they give way to something else.

If you can observe your thoughts just like you can observe other objects, who’s doing the observing? Don’t answer too quickly. This question, and its unspeakable answer, are at the center of all the great religions and spiritual traditions.

(full post found here)
I will be posting more from this list later on…..more things to ponder….

3 thoughts on “Something to think about”

    1. I think this is more true than I thought. At least in my life, my upbringing/environment has made a huge impact on my life. But I also think how I think and what I think about that shapes who I am also. I could be all negative about it and that leads to depression and excessive anxiety or I can be positive and lead a relatively decent life too. (not all bad or not all good) if that makes sense.
      Thanks.

Leave a comment